It’s been way too long.

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.05.52 PM  I’ve sat down in front of my computer so many times in the last couple of months, and then nothing happens. It’s not because nothing has been happening, we’ve been crazy busy. Maybe I’m just tired. Or maybe I got sucked into the world of Rory and Lorelai Gilmore and couldn’t escape.  Anyway, we’ve had friends from New York and also from Florida here to visit, we’ve been to birthday parties, celebrations of different sorts, done tons of work on our house, and played.

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.07.06 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.06.57 PM  These two are the best little brother/sister combo there ever was. They fight like crazy, but they love each other so much. Today Oliver fell off of the couch and cried, and when it happened Rose cried because “she doesn’t want Oliver to get hurt”. If Oliver wakes up before Rose in the morning, he constantly tries to sneak in the room to wake her up and says “Rosie?” over and over until she is awake. They’ve both recently taken a liking to crawling into our bed at night and it’s so sweet. At first I really didn’t like it at all, but now I barely notice it until i wake up in the morning with a little blonde head on either side of me and I love it. Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.06.35 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.06.47 PM   Rose Update: Every day she seems more and more like a big kid. Lately she’s not as much into the princess dresses, and way into putting together outfits from her closet. Her favorite thing to do is wear a dress with pajama pants and a sweater. She loves sweaters. It’s both awesome and so, so frustrating at the same time. I LOVE watching her be creative and feeling proud of what she’s wearing, but the laundry! I swear every single piece of clothing that she has ends up on the floor every single day. And not just the floor of her closet. They are all over the house. She is also obsessed with Taylor Swift. We listen to her newest album on repeat all day, every day, and every time she gets to choose something to watch on the tv, it’s always a Taylor Swift video. There are way worse girls she could obsess over, so I’m ok with it. I also love hearing her sing the words she thinks are in the songs. It’s adorable. We recently had a pet hermit crab die, so she now asks about death and heaven and Jesus at least once or twice a day. I wasn’t really ready for these kinds of deep talks yet. I thought I had at least a couple more years to prepare! She is also really interested in vocabulary and using big words, so I have to give definitions all the time and then listen to her try to use them correctly. Also adorable. She dances and twirls all the time and is the girliest little thing I’ve ever seen. She is perfect.

Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.06.24 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-30 at 9.06.15 PM Oliver Update: He is getting SO BIG!!!  His cute little chubby body is slowly disappearing and it makes me so sad. I love summer because he can just run around in a diaper all day and his little leg rolls and belly are ready for squeezing and kissing. He has recently had a language explosion and is talking a ton! He repeats us all the time and is starting to put little sentences together…really little, but amazing, still. His little brain is so amazing, too. I love watching him figure things out and know what to do without help or guidance. Yesterday Rose was complaining that her now was running, and without being asked he reached over and grabbed a tissue, handed it to her and said “here you go” (it sounded like “hewe ya do”) and I was so proud of him. He sometimes wakes up earlier than everyone else, puts his tiny arms around my neck and whispers “lub woo” (which means “i love you”) and I nearly cry every time. And then when I tell him I love him too, he says “thanths” (thanks). It’s my favorite thing right now. He is cuddly and sweet and loves with all of his heart. Rose is definitely his favorite person. New people and crowds make him super nervous, which makes any kind of outing pretty hard. I’m hoping this is a phase that passes quickly. He is also getting braver and more adventurous, which I hate, but I’m also proud when he climbs a tree without help or figures out how to escape from anywhere. In some weird way, it makes me worry a little less about his future. That may sound crazy, but I am a little bit crazy, so…

Leave a Reply

