The Last of 2014…besides Christmas.

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 10.29.09 AM  Isn’t that picture of them just the sweetest? It’s one f my favorites. I’m not even sure what Rose doing to him, but it was adorable. They look so cozy and relaxed sitting on the couch together…and it’s exactly the opposite of what December was actually like for us. Every year I get so excited for the holiday season, and then when it’s here I have almost no time to enjoy it. I wish there could just be a little more time between Thanksgiving and Christmas. It would be so nice to leisurely shop for gifts, relax at parties with friends, sit by a fire and enjoy the cozy glow of Christmas tree lights…but none of that happened. Shopping was hectic (mostly because there are usually two hungry or tired kids with me), parties were fun but I always felt pressured to get home to my babies soon because Oliver still nurses more often then he should, and our fireplace doesn’t work. Also our cozy lights have been ripped off of the tree so many times that they now look more like a big mess that needs to be cleaned up than decoration…and only about 1/4 of them even work, so that doesn’t help. Oh well. Next year, right? The weather was unseasonably warm, which I was surprisingly okay with. We were able to go to the park and the zoo more than we normally do this time of the year, so that was nice.

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 10.29.22 AM  Rose Update: I’ve been waiting for the day to come that she would start naming stuffed animals and toys, and it’s finally here! I don’t know why, but it’s so fun to me. So far, we have a pink fox named Pony, a bear named Fishie, a toy horse named Mister Chirpy Face (my personal favorite), and an orange fox named Fox. She’s also started referring to herself as Sparkling Glitter, and I’m not sure I like it. It’s a little more stripper-ish than I’d like. Going outside is like heaven to her right now. Our yard is 100% stickers, so it doesn’t happen often. The next thing we fix at our house will be the yard so that she is able to run out the door anytime she wants. We were at a garage sale a few weeks ago and she asked if she could sit on the grass, when we said yes, she laughed hysterically and started rolling around in the yard of these complete strangers. It was just as sad as it was funny. Ballet is still her thing and she gets to start classes next month! Oh man, I can’t wait. She went to the big kid class at church for the first time and loved it (they gave her gummies and she got to play with play dough). I left her there with tears in my eyes, but I was so proud of her for staying (she was so nervous). She is turning into such a big girl and it is amazing.

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 10.29.32 AM  Oliver Update: He is becoming so good at communication. Of course, his words are limited still, but he points, does tons of hand gestures (a sign language of sorts), whispers, and grunts in various tones and volumes to let us know what he wants. He’s also started running everywhere and it is so cute. His chubby little legs don’t move very fast at all, but he loves it. We’ve had to rearrange most of the furniture in our house to keep him from climbing and almost all of the doors are closed at all times to keep him out of trouble. Even when I think I’ve got the place completely baby-proofed, he finds a way to get hurt or destroy something. His newest fascination is with the toilet. He LOVES to put things in it. It is disgusting and so, so frustrating. Even when someone is using the toilet, he is trying to stuff random things in there. Washing hands has become a pretty frequent activity in our house. He’s still a horrible sleeper and still the sweetest boy.

Leave a Reply

