September was good.

P1100788  The best part of September was when our sweet friends came to visit from Florida. Last time we saw them, that baby boy, Deacon, was still in his mommy’s tummy…and now he is 10 months old and so, so, sweet! He was here for 3 whole days and I barely even heard a peep out of him. He and Oliver gave each other plenty of big, open-mouthed kisses and made us laugh a lot.  It will be so much fun to see them become friends as they grow…and to tell them about when they used to kiss. It was so nice to have friend time.

Screen Shot 2014-10-06 at 1.23.21 PM  The kids had lots of fun in September. They’re playing together more and more every day, which also means they’re fighting more and more every day. And if I’m being totally honest, there is way more fighting than getting along. I try to ignore it as much as possible. Of course, if there is blood (rarely happens) or someone sounds like they are dying (happens quite often), I intervene. We went to the fair and Rose got to choose a ride, which of course was the carousel because she wanted to ride a horse. It was over 100 degrees outside when we went, so we didn’t stay long at all. Not even long enough for a funnel cake, which may be a first for me.  Screen Shot 2014-10-06 at 1.23.32 PM  Rose update: She is basically a 16 year old in a two year olds body. She says and does stuff daily that makes me think “Where the heck did she hear that?” For example…see that pair of leopard print heels shes wearing up there ^, well we were in a hurry that day and ran into Old Navy to grab something, and she spotted them. She begged to try them on and I said no several times, but when she said “Please, Mommy! They are going look so beautiful, I promise.”, I gave in. Who could say no to that? And she was right. they did look good.  When we say no to things she is wanting, she’ll usually reply with “Don’t you ever say that to me again!” in a really angry voice, and then 2 seconds later she’ll be excited about something and squeal “I can’t wait! It is going be so amazing!” Her birthday is over a month away, but she talks about it EVERY SINGLE DAY. Her expectations are really high, so I’ve got to get it together with planning. She loves telling secrets that she makes up and they rarely make sense, she dances all the time (ballet is still her favorite, but she is into pip pop (aka hip hop) dancing right now, too), constantly wants to be held or cuddled, wears my clothes around the house and asks several times a day if she looks wonderful, calls me Cass or mother more than she calls me mommy (it drives me crazy), and asks about a million questions every single day.

Screen Shot 2014-10-06 at 1.23.10 PM Oliver update: He is still the worlds sweetest little guy. I’m not kidding. His little personality is just pure sugar and honey and maple syrup and everything else sweet. He climbs on everything and is never still, but if you catch him at the right time he will give you the biggest, slobberiest kisses you’ve ever had. And then he’ll wrap his tiny arms around your neck and lay his little blonde head on your shoulder for a second. It is the best. He is starting to get an attitude sometimes, too, though. He mostly just screams really loudly when he’s mad, and then he gets distracted and it’s over. He is starting to sleep a little better. Only a little. I’m trying to convince myself that he is on the road to sleeping well, but honestly, I have no idea if that will ever happen. Someday I’ll get to sleep all night, right??

One response to “September was good.

Leave a Reply

