July

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 8.50.23 PM Ok. I seriously typed this post last month and it disappeared into thin air. How???? So frustrating. Anyway, July was the most insane month of my life and I’m glad it’s over. There were some good parts, but mostly it was stressful, emotional, and exhausting. We packed up our apartment, went on vacation (horrible timing, but we didn’t really have a choice), the kids and I moved in with my mom, we closed on our house (FINALLY.), Ryan moved into the house to start the remodel, and I hosted two parties/showers for friends. That all happened in the last two weeks of July. See? Crazy. 

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 8.50.46 PM There were some good parts, like I said before… we celebrated the 4th with friends and lots of good food. We were all in bed before the fireworks, though. Ryan and I snuck out of bed and watched them for a few minutes (don’t tell Rose). We did some art at the local museum (Ryan helped with it mostly, cause that’s his “thing”), and we went to the park a few times. Oliver is starting to enjoy things like that, since he is super mobile and able to play more. Oh! We also celebrated our anniversary by buying a new van cause our old one was totaled in a hail storm. I hate car shopping and hope to never do it again. 

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 8.51.23 PM Rose update: She is potty trained! I’d been putting this off til we were settled in our house, but she had other plans. When she was ready, she let me know and it was so dang easy. I got lucky, I know. And praise Jesus for that. There have been a few accidents, but only 3 or 4. She has mastered tantrums. If I’m being honest, she mastered it a very long time ago, but has recently decided to make them a daily thing. Usually when I can’t find a dress for her to wear or her chip is too small (that’s why she is laying on the floor in that pic up there…you can see the chip on the table, too. haha!). Choosing her own clothes is still an obsession. I have a really hard time with this still, but I’m starting to care less. Also, ballet. Oh my goodness. The girl is OBSESSED. Some funny stuff she’s said lately…

R: Mommy, you are beautiful, but you are not cool. Only daddy and uncle Tyler are cool. 

Me: oh. I want to be cool. Are you sure I’m not cool? 

R: you are not cool. 

……

R: (to Oliver) You know something, brother? I love you. I love you, brother. (I may have teared up)

……

R: (as I’m getting her ready for her nap) Mommy, when I wake up I will take you on a date.

Me: that sounds perfect. I’d love to go on a date with you. 

R: You have to poop first so you don’t poop in your pants and have a accident. 

Me: good idea. 

Screen Shot 2014-06-30 at 8.45.48 PM Oliver update: He’s still just the cutest little thing in the world. He isn’t saying any words yet, but he’s starting to sign “all done” sometimes and we’re working on “more”. He’s finally starting to eat well and enjoy solids. Sleeping is not his favorite thing to do, but with all the changes going on, I’m not surprised. I’m tired, but not surprised. He is walking a little, putting random things in his mouth every chance he gets, and trying really hard to play with Rose. Climbing has also been fun for him lately, and I’m pretty sure I’ve got a long road of peeling him off of too-high places ahead of me. Little boys. How do they survive? And how do their moms survive?? He loves taking baths, crawling up stairs, shrieking, clapping, music (like, really loves.), pulling hair, and toothbrushes. His thighs are still the chubbiest and most adorable things. Also, his hair is getting too long.

One response to “July

Leave a Reply

