The past few weeks…

Image Well, we are officially out of our house. We got everything packed and moved out in 5 days, and none of those days were on a weekend. It was so hard and so frustrating and we were all exhausted and emotional. I knew I’d be sad leaving that house. It was our first house, it was where we got pregnant with both of our babies and brought them home. It’s where we took monthly photos of Rose (and Oliver til now) her entire first year of life. Its where she learned to crawl (sort of) and walk and talk. It was home. When we pulled up to our empty house to give the new owners the keys, Rose yelled “Home, Mommy!” (we’d been staying at our apartment for a couple of nights at that point), and I burst into tears. And then we went inside and she ran to her room and said “Where my toys go?”, and again I burst into tears. And then it happened one last time when we were leaving and I said “Ok, it’s time to say bye bye.” and Rose said “Bye bye, house.” and then she kissed the wall. I’ve never been good at goodbyes or change in general. This was hard for me. Now we’re staying in a tiny student apartment at ACU, which is actually not bad at all. We are saving a lot of money, Ryan has no commute to work and he can come home for lunch sometimes, and the university is our yard. Rose loves it.

ImageImage Rose update: She basically only asks questions right now. Ok, that’s not entirely true, but I sometimes feel like all I do all day is answer her questions. I love that she is so curious about everything around her, so I try to give her good answers most of the time. Sometimes my brain just won’t work though, and she gets “hmm, I don’t know.” in reply. There have a been a few times that I’ve given her more complex answers than what she’s wanting and she’ll say “What you sayin’, mommy?” It’s pretty funny. She is now sleeping in her big girl bed and is doing it perfectly. We decided not to bring her crib to the apartment, and I was a little nervous about how this would go. I’m so glad it’s gone well . That picture of her sleeping in her crib was the last time she slept in it. Most of the other pictures are of our adventures running around ACU. Her favorite place to go is the pond. It’s only about 3-4 minutes from our apartment, so we go often. She is also into dancing a lot right  now. She still loves ballet, but she’s getting more silly with her moves and I love it. She’ll tell us she loves us when she leaves a room or when she is leaving the house with one of us. She also gets really sad if she doesn’t get a kiss on the lips when she’s leaving. Her sweet little heart is the best.

ImageImage Oliver update: This little chunk will be 6 months old tomorrow. I can’t believe it. It seems like he should only be about 3 months old. He is sitting up really well now, and he babbles ALL THE TIME. He says “mama” over and over, and even though I know it’s just noise to him right now, I still love hearing it. He loves toys and people (as long as they are just talking to him and not trying to hold him). We hear all the time that “he’s so happy” or “he smiles so much”, and it’s true. He is such a sweet and happy little guy. He still naps pretty terribly, so sometimes in the evenings he gets a little grumpy, but most of the time he is perfect. NIght time is pretty rough too. This morning when it was time for his nap, he started giggling when I turned of the light…and then in less than 10 seconds he was out. It was so funny. Last night was probably the worst he’s ever had, so I knew he’d be really tired. I was right. Now if only I could lay down and sleep with him.

Leave a Reply

