Books We Love

Rose has always liked books, but now she really loves them. It’s so much fun to read to her and see her little smile. We both love the classics, like Goodnight Moon, Where the Wild Things Are, and anything by Eric Carle. Lately she’s been really into a few other books in her collection, so I thought I’d share…just in case anyone is on the hunt for some good reading material.

Image This one is so sweet. I think she mostly likes it because of the animals inside (there are puppies), but I love it because I remember asking my mom similar questions when I was little and her answer was always “Yes. I will love you no matter what.” Some of the words are hard to pronounce, but it’s still great.

ImageThis book is awesome. Rose definitely doesn’t understand the message, but she LOVES it anyway. There are flaps to lift, pop-up pictures, textures, and silly things to see throughout the story. This is a great book for older kids too…even middle school or high school, I think.

ImageRyan bought this book for Rose last summer because he is a fan of Alexander Girard, and I’m so glad he bought it. The illustrations are awesome and it’s a fun rhyming book all about colors. Our copy has been chewed on, bent up, stepped all over, and read hundreds of times. It travels with us on trips, and is carried from room to room in our house. I’ve even laid in bed awake at night repeating the words to myself because I can’t get them out of my head. We may need to purchase a new one soon, but it will be well worth the money.

Image   Is this book a classic? I had it when I was a kid and remember my mom reading it to me before bed quite a few times, but I’ve never known anyone else who had it. Again, Rose loves it because it has animals. This one also travels with us and is read over and over and over. I’ve had to hide it a few times just because my brain can’t handle anymore meow-ing. I do love this story though. It’s sweet and simple…perfect for bedtime.

Yesterday I read Olivia 6 times in a row…I may need to add that to the list of favorites, but who doesn’t love Olivia???

Leave a Reply

