Thankful

Image

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I thought I’d share some things that I have been really, really grateful for lately:

1. Ryan. The restaurant is now open (HOORAY!!!), and he’s been home at regular times and it is so nice! The past few months have been super hard, but now that he is home more I am really realizing how much better everything is when he is around. And since Rose’s birthday is right around the corner, I’ve been thinking a lot about the past year and how I honestly could not have done it without him. I don’t even think I could have gotten through the labor and delivery without him. When I was crying and saying over and over “I can’t do it!!”, he held my hand and said (very calmly), “You have to.” When I was an emotional basket-case for the first few weeks (or months?) of Rose’s life, he offered to help with anything and everything…he cooked, cleaned, ran all of the errands because I was too nervous to expose Rose to any germs, he walked Daisy, and so many other little things that I’m forgetting. He works hard every day so that I can be at home with our baby. That is something that I will never, ever forget.

2. Rose. We waited SO LONG for this precious baby girl, and when she got here last year at about this time, our lives changed forever. I could make a mega-list of all the things she does every second of every day that make us love her so much, but if you’re a parent, you get it. She is amazing and I cannot even begin to put into words how incredible thankful I am for her. God is good.

3. My family (my mom, dad, step-mom, brothers, etc.). I think becoming a mom made me more thankful for them. Of course, I’ve always loved them, but now I understand how they (my parents) feel about my brothers and me.

On a lighter note, I cannot believe that Thanksgiving is just two days away!! That means that all the yummy Thanksgiving food is also just two days away. I can’t wait. I’ll spend the next two days searching for a pair of not-terrible-looking pants with an elastic waist.

One response to “Thankful

Leave a Reply

