Bigg Happenings

Well, the title of this is kind of misleading, because there is really not much going on here this week. There is one certain thing going on, but I don’t think I am ready to talk about it yet. This thing involves ANOTHER accident, trip to the doctor, and a lot of bandages. Everyone is ok, and I promise once I stop feeling like a horrible mom I will explain.

On a more positive note, we have had one GREAT breakthrough this week.  After 13 short months, Charlie decided to start sleeping through the night!  Now, I could go on and on (and on) about infant sleep patterns, problems, and sleep training.  But I won’t :)   I spent way too much time worrying about it with my first baby.  I wanted West to sleep through the night so badly, but the harder I tried, the less he slept.  I became frustrated and West could sense it so he became frustrated.  I read the books, searched out sleep advice, did the rice cereal thing, etc, etc, etc.  Nothing ever really worked.  He started sleeping through the night just after turning 1 year old.  With Charlie, I didn’t fight it at all.  If she cried out, I fed her.  If she cried out again, I rocked her.  If she cried out again, I let her sleep with me.  I did nothing to try to get her to sleep through the night, and she did it at the same  age as her brother.  Yes, we had long nights. Yes, I was tired almost every morning. Looking back, I wouldn’t change it at all; I loved our late night moments and snuggle sessions.  I have found myself waking up around 3am this last week and a half wondering if she’s ok, and there’s a big part of me that wishes she would wake up so I could go hold her in the dark and tell her I love her. My baby is growing up so fast, and I can’t believe it. I hope 13 years from now, she will still need me in the middle of  the night and that she will still want me to hold her.

XOXO, H

Sweet sleepy face.

Nightly routine: bath with big bro and story time with daddy!

About to get tucked in for the night!

Morning bottle.

Morning smiles.

Morning family snuggle time!

Love this baby girl!!!

More kisses.

Our favorite pose :)

6 responses to “Bigg Happenings

  1. Well I definitely wasn’t prepared for this. I seriously just got so emotional! Like actual tears in my actual eyes!! Why are our kids growing so fast?!?

  2. 1. Great post title.
    2. I got emotional too. This was a good reminder to keep things in perspective when I’m up early and often with my little darling. Time does fly way too fast….

  3. My next post was going to be about sleep issues. I changed my mind after I got all teary-eyed from reading this. It was exactly what I needed today.

  4. To piggyback the girls, my eyes too welled (sp.?) up in this post, maybe just thinking about Sinclair and our recent sleepless nights together.

  5. Han. So proud of you and so proud of charlie girl. Also, a bit sad and hoping Ross will wake up at 3 this morning.

  6. Good to know we are not alone :) My girls are the same way, late to sleep through the night. I still get up to feed Vi almost every night, and I do love those snuggles :) They are only babies for so long, sad that they don’t grow a little slower.

Leave a Reply

